Creative Writing Fellowships

February 18, 2016 Karen Popp AwardsFellowshipsHumanitiesU.S. Citizens

The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) offers funding for talented published creative writers to research, write, travel, and further their career. Several fellowships are offered to creative writers to interpret, explore, and create fiction and creative nonfiction works. The NEA Literature Fellowships program operates on a two-year cycle with fellowships in prose and poetry available in alternating years. This year, guidelines are for fellowships in poetry.

Award: Fellowships are for $25,000.

Eligibility: For published creative writers in poetry and prose (fiction and creative nonfiction). An applicant may apply to Poetry, if within the last 7 years, she or he has published a volume of 48 or more pages of poetry OR, twenty or more different poems or pages of poetry in five or more literary journals, anthologies, or publications which regularly include poetry as a portion of their format. Up to 16 poems may be in a single volume of poetry of fewer than 48 pages. This volume, however, may count as only one of the required five places of publication. For online publications, a page of poetry is considered to be twenty lines or less. Manuscript material: 10 pages of sample text. Summary of applicant publications.

Citizenship: Open only to U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

Disciplines: Humanities. Arts and Architecture. Open to fields related to creative writing.

Deadline: March 9, 2016

For more information and application instructions, see NEA Creative Writing Fellowships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by and